Key Lime Pie Cookies with Icing

Let me just start out with saying that I am obsessed with key lime pie. The tangy tartness mixed with the sweetness is so wonderful. I am obsessed with key lime pie so much that I decided to make some key lime pie cookies. I had to tell myself over and over not to eat the batter while mixing it up, but every time I got some on my hand, I licked it off out of habit. Then, once I baked the cookies, I decided they would be even better with a creamy; tangy icing.

IMG_1531

Cookie Ingredients:
• 2/3 cup coconut oil
• 2 cup white sugar
• 4 eggs
• 3.5 cup flour
• 2 tsp baking powder
• 1 tsp salt
• 1 tsp corn starch
• Zest and Juice from 4 limes

Start with preheating the oven to 350F.

Cream the coconut oil and sugar together.

IMG_1493

While the coconut oil and sugar are being creamed together, whisk together in a separate bowl; the flour, baking powder, corn starch and salt.

IMG_1494

Add in the eggs, lime zest and lime juice to the coconut oil and sugar mixture. Mix well. (CAUTION: the grater WILL cut your fingers! Please move them out-of-the-way… Don’t learn the hard way! OUCH!)

IMG_1498

Next, slowly add the dry ingredients into the lime mixture, until all is smooth and well blended.

IMG_1502

I placed my cookie dough in the freezer for about 20 minutes, just enough to thicken it up a bit.  Then I used a 1 inch cookie scoop to place them on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet (or pizza pan in this case).

IMG_1510

Bake for 10 minutes or until edges become light brown.

IMG_1522

Allow to cool while making the icing.

Icing Ingredients:

• 1 (8 oz) cream cheese, softened
• 1 cup powdered sugar
• 4 tbsp. lime juice (or 20 crystalized true lime packets)
• green food coloring (optional)

Beat cream cheese until smooth. Slowly add the powdered sugar, mix well until well blended and smooth. Add the lime juice or crystalized lime. (I used about 15 of these packets since I had them on hand from the last Key Lime Pie I made, but it just wasn’t tart enough, so I added about 2 tbsp. of liquid lime juice I had in the fridge.)

 

Crystalized lime packets

Crystalized lime packets

Add ONE drop of green food coloring. I used Duff Goldman’s Electric Green food coloring and one drop gave a light hint of green, kinda like a Key Lime Pie.

IMG_1519

Duff Goldman Electric Color Gels

This is what the icing looks like… although, my lighting doesn’t really show it off very well.

IMG_1513

Now that your cookies have cooled and your icing is made… put the icing on the cookies!

IMG_1523

They didn’t last long because I took most of them to my husbands shop and all those Airmen gobbled them up within 30 minutes and my kids have been eating them. I had to refrain from eating my favorite flavor ever because I am in the process of a 21 day workout challenge! aaaahhhh! Day 3 and going!

Here’s my oldest cramming one in his mouth before I could finish putting the icing on them.

IMG_1526

ENJOY!!

 

Leave a Reply

