Homemade Sushi

My family LOVES sushi and looks forward to the very few times we catch a chance to get out and enjoy some. The last time was 5 months ago for my birthday. I never thought that I would ever make any on my own and I really didn’t know that they it is super easy to do! Since my father-in-law came to visit us and meet his grandbaby for the first time and to enjoy the Sturgis Rally, I decided to make some so we could all try it out. My amazing new friend, Alysa, from here at Ellsworth Air Force Base has shown me how easy and wonderful homemade sushi is! You can find her HERE.

IMG_1626

Essential Ingredients:
14 Nori Sheets (Seaweed Wraps)[I used the hand roll wraps] *you could use 3 regular Nori sheets*
1/2 Cup Rice Vinegar
2 Tablespoons Sugar
2 Teaspoons Salt
1 Cup Jasmine Rice
Sushi Rolling Mat
A non-metal bowl
A non-metal spoon

Fillings:
Your choice. We chose to use English cucumber, avocado and artificial crab sticks. I bought more than I needed, but that just means I get to make more soon!!

Directions:

Start out by measuring out one cup of Jasmine rice.
In a strainer, rinse the rice for 1-2 minutes under cool water until all of the starch is clear from the draining water.

IMG_1628

Place the rice into a medium saucepan and add just a little bit more water than to cover the rice in the pot. (I forgot to take a picture… whoops!)
Turn your burner to HIGH heat. Stirring every 1-2 minutes to avoid the rice from sticking and bring the rice water just to a boil, then turn the heat all the way to LOW, cover, and DO NOT TOUCH for 6-8 minutes. *While your rice is cooking, measure out 1/2 cup Rice Vinegar* Peek open the lid, if the water is gone and the rice is puffy, it is done. If there is still moisture, STILL DO NOT TOUCH, and continue to cook another 3-5 minutes. Mine was beautifully fluffy at 8 minutes. (Again, sorry no picture… I was having to deal with my little man and hurry because I had a house full of hungry people.)
Measure 2 Tablespoons Sugar, and 2 Teaspoons Salt into a small saucepan.

IMG_1630
Add 1/2 Cup Rice Vinegar to the sugar and salt in the small saucepan.
Heat on MEDIUM until all solid particles become liquid.

IMG_1631

Now, your rice should be done! Peek in and see. If your rice is done, place gently into anything but metal bowl. Wooden is preferred. (my ride was done in 8 minutes)
Once your Rice Vinegar/Sugar mixture is combined, slowly add it in small amounts to your white rice. (once again, I was in a hurry and just poured it all in at once) *Use a non-metal utensil to very gently mix the rice and liquid. Wooden is preferred.
Once your warm rice has been gently combined with the warm liquid, set aside to cool. (I put my bowl of rice into the fridge so it would cool off faster… I had hungry people screaming for sushi!)

Now to start prepping your filling. I had to slice the English Cucumber, avocado and the crab meat.

IMG_1633

IMG_1634

Once all of your fillings are prepared, lay your Nori (seaweed wrap) rough side up and smooth side down, onto the sushi rolling mat.

Next, grab a small bowl of water and have it close by. Dip your hands into the water to get them damp. (this keeps the sticky rice from sticking all over your hands) Grab some of the cooled sticky rice with your damp hands and spread it onto the Nori, leaving about 1/2 inch from the far edge, and about 1/4 inch from the edge closest to you.

IMG_1636

*This picture has the Nori laying sideways, BUT since I used the hand wrap seaweed, so, I actually turned them lengthwise. (Shorter end of the seaweed towards the closest end of the Sushi mat.)

IMG_1637

Now, roll the Sushi mat over itself and roll the closest end of the seaweed  under the fillings. Now continue rolling all the way to the end. Try to keep a tight roll, but of course the first one may not be as tight as the next one, but that is totally fine. (No picture because I couldn’t roll it and take the pic.)

IMG_1638

Here’s half my rolls before I cut them into cute little circles!

IMG_1639

Here’s my little man. He was at my feet the whole time. He learned how to open the cabinet doors while waiting on me to finish!

IMG_1640

Here’s half the Sushi! I had to go ahead and feed the family while I finished the rest of them.

IMG_1641

I baked some pork eggrolls to go with the Sushi. We had ribs smoking on the grill which only had 2 hours until they were ready, so we didn’t need to fill up too much.

IMG_1642

My family is loving this Sushi! I believe this was the first time my father-in-law tried Sushi and he couldn’t believe how good it was.

I really hope you all enjoy making and eating your Sushi as much as we did. I was amazing! Thank you Alysa for giving me the idea to create our own. This will definitely be a regular on our menu now!

Leave a Reply

