Cabbage Roll Soup – in the pressure cooker!

Do you love cabbage rolls, but hate the tedious process of cooking, stuffing and rolling the cabbage leaves without breaking the leaves into 5 pieces!? That is so me! Then to have a complete meal in about 30 minutes is a huge bonus!

I gathered all my ingredients and prepped them then put them into the pressure cooker, set it for 20 minutes, left to pick the kids up from school and came home to steaming hot supper! Seriously, how easy is that!?

Ingredients

1 large onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb ground beef
1/2 lb ground pork
3/4 cup uncooked rice (I use brown rice, but have used white as well)
1 medium cabbage, core removed and diced into bite size pieces
1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes, untrained
2 tbsp tomato paste
4 cups beef broth
1 1/2 cups V8 or other vegetable juice
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tbsp onion powder
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 bay leaf
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp oil

Instructions

Turn the pressure cooker on to the “brown” method.
Add 1 tbsp oil and the onions. Sauté about 3 minutes and add the garlic.
Then add in the ground pork and beef; brown. Once browned, drain the fat off the meat and put back into the pressure cooker.
Add the rest of the ingredients: rice, chopped cabbage, tomatoes, tomato paste, beef broth, V8/other veggie juice, and seasonings.
Stir together to mix well, put the lid on and seal the valve… Set for 20 minutes and walk away.
Go fix a drink, take this moment to take a potty break or pick the kids up from school and you’ll come back to deliciousness, but be warned… It’s going to be piping hot!!

IMG_0555-0.JPG

41 thoughts on “Cabbage Roll Soup – in the pressure cooker!

    • Depends on how hungry we are! Hehe 😉
      If I’m not in the kitchen when it finishes cooking then I let it naturally release… if I am in the kitchen and everyone is standing around impatiently waiting to eat; I’ll open it all the way and quickly release it

  1. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Looks delicious and I plan on trying it. I wonder if I could pre-cook brown rice and add it instead of uncooked white rice.

      • how much brown rice do you add to the original recipe and how much longer does it take to cook if I follow your recipe as written with brown instead of white rice? thanks

  2. I just made this for the first time and really liked it. I have a 6qt Instant Pot Duo and I used the Manual high setting for 20 minutes. Since your recipe doesn’t specify the release method or time, I used a 30 minute natural release (following another soup recipe I have). Next time I’ll let it go for only 10-15 minutes. I used brown rice because that was what I had on hand. Since brown rice calls for a 20-minute pressure cook time and this soup also calls for 20 minutes, there was no need to adjust the time. I did, however, soak the rice for about 45 minutes beforehand. Everything turned out great. Thank you for a delicious recipe!

  3. I cooked only for 5 minutes with about a 10 min Natural release. Cabbage was perfect,…can’t imagine 18 minutes! No need to cook this soup any longer than 5 minutes. Turned out great. I used 1 lb of pork and 1 lb beef. 6 cloves smashed whole garlic instead of 3 minced. Cooked meat on low Saute’. Chicken bone broth instead of beef. Cooked rice separately and not in soup. 1 serving per bowl before adding soup. Yum!

  4. This was very good but very spicy.. maybe my type of cayenne pepper was especially hot. Hubby loved it as he loves spicy foods but for me it continued to get hotter as I ate it. Next time I would cut back on the cayenne pepper for sure. Pressure cookers do bring out flavors of spices much more than regular cooking on the stove. Otherwise it was delicious!

  5. I just made this and it was delicious! I did it in my 6 qt instant pot with uncooked rice. Set it to ten minutes on soup mode and quick released and it was done perfectly! Yum.

  6. Thank you for this delicious recipe! I made it vegan using veg broth and subbing vegan crumbles for the meat. I also eliminated the oil and sautéed the onion and garlic in water. TURNED OUT DELICIOUS!

  7. I have a power cooker woth a ton of different preset options when i look at my owners manual the cook option is default 15 min cook and the pressure is at 70 kPa I can manually change all that, it is also 8 quarts. Please help me i am very new to using a pressure cooker infact this is my first time

    • Sorry for the very late reply!
      You can use the 15 minute default for white rice, I would think.
      I have started using brown rice and it tends to need a little more cook time.

  8. Can I cut back on the amount of broth to make it more like a casserole than a soup or does it need this much broth for the rice and cabbage to get done?

  9. just made this for my work week..i did use the instant brown rice but it come out perfect.. this soup was one of the first ive done in the pressure cooker but I will be doing it again. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

